Learning how to make almond butter and using it well (quick recipe)

Visiting health food stores has always been my thing. Like a child in a candy store, I am able to spend a good couple of hours checking bio products, rare tea selections, Ayurvedic products and lately, raw nut butters. Anyone who is a regular on organic shops can tell you that most products are not cheap, quite frankly they cost a lot!

Shocking how good things, nutritious things that are certified organic can really drain your pockets! So, this is an attempt to save money, taste 100% fresh organic things (raw nut butter) that I can make at home.

A few things on raw nut butter and why they are good for us:

-it is very versatile ( can be used as a simple spread on your toast, as a filling for tarts and so many more)

-it is highly nutritious (high in ‘good fats’, in riboflavin, folate, vitamin E, omega 3 fatty acids, niacin and low in cholesterol)

-it is a good source of magnesium and manganese. This butter also has phosphorous and is a good source of protein.

-it is super alkaline for those on an alkaline diet

-almonds  give you lasting energy to get through the day

-some studies mention that almond butter can help you lose weight, yes that’s right!

One teaspoon of almond butter leaves me satisfied, stops my sugar cravings as it is food that does not allow sugar spikes in the blood plus I get minerals, good fats and delicious taste to support my system.

Basically from what I found out from other health food bloggers there are two versions of almond butter: 1-raw almond butter 2-roasted almond butter. I opted for the number one, as I wanted to experiment with something less complicated.

Here’s what I did to get my wonderful, creamy and delicious raw almond butter:

Step 1-Put 150 grams-250 grams of organic almonds into your food processor with the ‘S’ blade.

IMG_3213  IMG_3214

Step 2-Start whizzing away, for about a minute, at first your almonds will turn into almond meal.

IMG_3215   IMG_3216

Step 3-Continue processing to the point that you see that the almonds start to move towards the sides of the processor. Keep processing, but every a couple of minutes stop to push down the almonds and keep on processing.

IMG_3219

Step 4-After a while, about 7-6 minutes your almond meal starts to get clumpy. Keep processing! The more you continue the more clumpy and sticky your almonds will get!

IMG_3222

Step 5-After 12-14 minutes, depends on the processor you are using (usually at around the 10-12 minute mark) your almonds start to release more oil and your almond meal starts to resemble more like almond butter! Continue processing!!! At this point I like to add a pinch of Himalayan salt (totally optional) and 1 tbs pure cold pressed coconut oil (also optional).

IMG_3221

Step 6-After another couple of minutes your almonds will release more oils and you will get a very creamy, smooth consistency. And voila! You have almond butter. If you taste it, it will still be warm from the processing. Store it in a glass jar and keep it in the fridge. When you want to use it, simply take it out for a few minutes and then you can use it on your toast.

IMG_3223  IMG_3224

Today, I used my almond butter for a vegan breakfast:

Bananas almond butter split!

Take a medium-sized banana, cut it along its spine and you get two wonderful pieces. Now, spread on top of each banana piece a spoonful of almond butter, then sprinkle with cinnamon and coconut shavings. It is super nutritious, super alkaline and very, very tasty.

I like small bites, so I cut my banana into four pieces instead

I like small bites, so I cut my banana into four pieces instead

Try it, and let me know if you liked this breakfast idea!

2 thoughts on “Learning how to make almond butter and using it well (quick recipe)

Share your thoughts with me

