My Chai tea version, are you curious to try it?

Damp, humid and cold weather are the best natural signals that our bodies need to keep warm and enjoy winter to the max.

I have been reading lately how important, if not hugely important, to keep our bodies warm throughout winter. Warmth brings better organ function, health and of course a steady happy mood.

Here is my (dairy-free, sugar-free, caffeine-free) version of Chai:

  • 3 1/2 cups of almond milk ( you can use rice milk or soy milk)
  • 3 cardamom pods
  • a small cinnamon stick
  • a small piece of ginger ( the size of your thumb, is always the best measurement for your tea)
  • 1/4 tsp of fennel seeds
  • 2-3 cloves
  • peel of orange or mandarin
  • 2 caffeine free black tea bags ( 1 bag per person)

Yield: 2-3 medium cups of Chai

Directions:

Put your plant-based milk in a pot, add all the ingredients and bring it to boil. Soon after that, lower heat to low and let the milk simmer for 20 minutes. Now it is the perfect moment to add those tea bags. Put the lid on, switch off the heat completely and let the tea bags soak into this aromatic herbal mix ( another 7 -10 minutes or so).

Ready to serve and enjoy!

IMG_4247

Warming, light, aromatic: my healthy Chai tea

Note: I didn’t mention any sweeteners for the Chai, because I used my own almond milk where I added dates to sweeten it. If you want a healthy sweetener, use coconut nectar instead of brown sugar or any other sweetener. Much healthier.

Feel free to share your Chai recipes with me!

-The Curious Mind-

4 thoughts on “My Chai tea version, are you curious to try it?

Share your thoughts with me

