Beauty bare necessities, loving yourself and our planet at the same time

In an attempt to simplify life it is important to clear out unnecessary things that would make the clearing process easier. Life is or can be complicated and the last thing I wish to do is complicate it even further by increasing my morning and evening beauty routine. And by “beauty routine” I refer to a meditation like ritual that keeps my body and mind happy. So I’d like to introduce you to my BBN or else Beauty Bare Necessities.

As with all things, it took a while to narrow down my beauty routine to a minimal range of products that give mega boost to my overall well-being, for that’s beauty to me.  There are seven products that I absolutely adore for various reasons: they are cruelty-free, chemical-free, vegan, all natural products that are gentle to my skin, help the natural detoxification process and  have an amazing smell.

IMG_5759

Natural Dry Shampoo

 

Hair: washing hair daily was never my thing. Instead I wash my hair every 2-3 days with a very gentle shampoo. My beauty bare necessity is a dry, vegan shampoo. It’s light, leaves no white traces on my hair and scalp and is so gentle as to just give a refreshing boost to the hair without drying it out. I chose a fragrance-free dry shampoo, as I prefer to smell neutral.

 

My little Japanese friend

My little Japanese friend

Face: Konjac Sponge the most gentle, natural cleanser for the face. This wonderful soft sponge has been my best friend for a while now. It can break down any product you wear on your face and still leave your face clean and without any irritation. It’s the best natural micropeeler I can have.

 

Coconut oil-organic & cold-pressed

Coconut oil-organic & cold-pressed

Coconut oil-face cloth, the first thing I started to use when I simplified my beauty routine. The rich in antioxidants coconut oil can clean the most persistent make-up or waterproof sunscreen or mascara within seconds. This oil not only cleanses from impurities and dust the skin, it also gives it important nutrients. Whether you have acne prone skin, sensitive skin, dry skin, oily skin a small amount of coconut oil massaged onto the face and then removed with a warm damp cotton cloth will clean the pores, detox the skin and moisturize it, leaving it glowing. I am raving about coconut oil so much as I have seen dramatic improvement with my on-off face dermatitis and of course a deeply moisturized skin can only be appreciated.

 

Vegan Sunsrcreen and Vegan Toothpaste

Vegan Sunsrcreen and Vegan Toothpaste

Vegan face sunscreen, I love the fact that there are natural products that can be used for sun protection. Switching from conventional sunscreens to a natural one was easy. Zinc oxide is the active ingredient, a physical sun blocker and a mineral in its purest form. The only thing I noticed was that I had to apply quickly and evenly the product, using a very small amount or the appearance of a few white marks would be the case. If so, massaging that are a bit longer and the white mark is gone. I chose to use a sunscreen that is paraben-free and there’s no nano technology.

 

Precious Nasya oil

Precious Nasya oil

Nose and Head: Nasya oil. This is so precious to me. It helps with so many things. I use it first thing when waking up and before going to bed. This special oil has so many benefits: reliefs from dryness in the nose and sinuses, nurtures sinuses and keeps bacteria responsible for colds or infections away. Also helps with headaches or insomnia. Nasya oil gives me a happy nose and a cloud-free head.

 

Teeth: Natural Clay toothpaste. It was not that easy to find a toothpaste that would be 100% chemical free until I started using this one. All the ingredients are from the Earth. The ingredients are just a few: purified water, clay, peppermint essential oil, menthol, sea salt and tea tree oil. This toothpaste will not foam like a conventional toothpaste. It is more like a paste that dissolves pleasantly in the mouth leaving a fresh feeling. It can cause minor tooth sensitivity due to the clay and salt that contains, but for this I add a bit of coconut oil and it is absolutely fine.

 

Salt Crystal, bottom left

Salt Crystal, bottom left

Body: Last but not least, I cannot be without clean, fresh underarm area. To keep it simple, I use a salt crystal. This neutralizes any bacteria in the underarm area, the real reason behind smelly armpits. It is not an antiperspirant product, they are not good for our body, and keeps me fresh for 8+ hours every day.

 

Zen Time

Zen Time

Mind and body: my seventh and last thing that I love and include in my beauty routine is a scented soy wax in lavender -and  in a tin that I can take with me when travelling! The essential oil of lavender released in the air when I burn this candle is wonderful, taking me in a quite space that helps me relax and start or end my day with a smile. An overall grounding experience.

 

What’s you beauty routine and what are your BBNs?

 

Love & Health-The Curious Mind

 

 

ps: this is not product placement, instead I bought and use these products based on their ingredients and how they perform.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Beauty bare necessities, loving yourself and our planet at the same time

  1. I hve been browsinng on-line greater thaan three hours today, yet
    I by no measns discovered any attention-grabbing article like yours.
    It’s pretty price sufficient for me. In my view, if all
    website owners and bloggers made just right content material as
    youu did, the internet will bee a lot more helpful tban ever
    before.

  2. Today, I went to the beachfront with my kids.

    I found a sea shell and gave it to my 4 year old daughter aand said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She put the
    shell to her ear and screamed. Thsre was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her
    ear. Shhe never wants to go back! LoL I know this is completely off topic but I had to tell someone!

Share your thoughts with me

